‘Vivian, I’d like to give you my heart,’ Rafe said, suddenly serious, then immediately grinning again. ‘But since that might be inconvenient, I’ve brought you someone else’s.’

bc

Title: Blood and Chocolate
Author: Annette Curtis Klause
Publisher: Laurel Leaf Library
Year of Publication: 1999

When I began reading Blood and Chocolate I was a bit apprehensive.   I worried Vivian’s character wouldn’t be developed properly and that she’d remain hard and unlikable.  As the story progressed, so did Vivian, and so does the reader.  It’s easy to forget that Vivian exists in a world apart from humankind; it becomes easy to pass her off as vain and pretentious. Interestingly enough, it’s the same qualities that set Vivian apart from humanity that highlight the human experience.  Shewolf or human, everyone has the face the world sees and the self we hide.  Everyone struggles with acceptance, with heartache, with rebellion.   Vivian is a beautifully and realistically dynamic protagonist.  For such a strong and otherworldly shewolf, she still maintains the dark vulnerability of a teenage girl in love.

